J.S. Bach’s St Matthew Passion Aria Mache dich mein Herze rein

J.S. Bach’s St Matthew Passion, is for me, without question, the most beautiful piece of music ever composed. I cannot understand how anyone could deny that Bach was divinely inspired and given this work as a gift from God. I think if this is but a glimpse of what heaven is like, then WOW!  This particular bass aria is my all-time favourite, it never seems to fail in making me weep not only for the sorrow in my heart because of how much of a miserable sinner I am, but also because of the sheer and pure beauty of the music and words that also bring joy in trusting in the accomplished work of Jesus through his suffering death, and resurrection for humankind and for someone as unworthy as me. Although I’ve listened to a lot of different orchestras and choirs and soloists; I particularly like this interpretation of  “Mache dich mein Herze rein” sung by bass Stephan MacLeod, with the Collegium Vocale Gent, conducted by Philippe Herreweghe.  Here is the English translation of it: “Make yourself pure, my heart,/I want to bury Jesus myself.”

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

2 Responses to J.S. Bach’s St Matthew Passion Aria Mache dich mein Herze rein

  1. Johann Fu says:

    For some reason when I click on the video I see the message “This video is private.” Here are two links that work on my computer and I hope will work for everybody:


  2. dimlamp says:

    Thank you, I didn’t make it private, so don’t know why it asks to sign in.

Leave a Reply

