Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree

Summer memories make everything feel magical to me — carefree and untroubled.

Even on the trips where everything went wrong, I look back and smile at the narrow escapes, or the long walks on a beach while I sorted out and righted the world.

Whether a good memory was made in years past, yesterday, or only moments ago, I love letting the nostalgia wrap me up — like a borrowed sweater on a cold summer night. Even more, I love making new memories: a carefree summer at the lake, a stroll through the park, dancing in the rain… then all I need to do is remember, and the same carefree feeling washes over me.

BC Ferry Ride

BC Ferry Ride

“Summertime and the livin is easy…” This photo was taken while on the ferry from Vancouver to Nanaimo, which we’ve travelled on several times over the years to visit family and friends.  Check out the other entries here.

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

12 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree

  1. Sheri says:

    Sometimes ferries offer a moment of respite in an otherwise endlessly busy world, even more than other things because you’re almost forced to stop and wait and you’re usually presented with a beautiful view.

  2. dimlamp says:

    What I like about ferry rides in addition to the beautiful view is the refreshing ocean breeze against my face.

  3. cynthiamc1 says:

    We rode that ferry (or one very like it) years ago when we moved to Vancouver Island. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. dimlamp says:

    Interesting. Vancouver Island is such a beautiful place.

  5. Nice choice for Carefree! It has been a few years since I rode that ferry but I remember how beautiful it was. Lisa

  6. mhdriver says:

    Water always seems relaxing and carefree. We live on a large lake and it is relaxing and carefree.

  7. seeker says:

    Yes, yes, yes.

  8. dimlamp says:

    I too find the sound of the ocean waves coming onto the shore very therapeutic.

  9. nothing like a ferry trip over the waves to start a carefree experience 🙂

  10. That looks like lots of fun. I’d love to go.

    janet

  11. dimlamp says:

    Yes it’s a wonderful, scenic ride.

Leave a Reply

