Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

3 Shadows

3 Shadows

This photo was taken at the hotsprings inside Yellowstone National Park. The shadows are my wife, brother-in-law, and yours truly. This photo still gives me much satisfaction when I look at it, I think it is one of the best photos I’ve taken so far as an amateur photographer. Check out other entries here.

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

26 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

  1. I have a very similar photo of one of our daughters and me, but I didn’t use it. I enjoyed this one.

    janet

  2. dimlamp says:

    Thanks, Janet.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In The Background | Endless Skys

  4. Rosanna says:

    A nice take on this week’s photo challenge!

  5. elspethc says:

    Interesting – I have sometimes inadvertently taken shadow pictures because I can’t see the screen in sunlight. I never thought about the way they declare there is a background! And, I like your theme too, every so often I think I might change it, then I don’t because I do like this one.

  6. Barbara says:

    What I like about your photo is that the people look like pioneers. The outfits just make the photo a little bit different at least that is the way it strikes me. Very nice.

  7. Inge says:

    Great shot and composition. 🙂

  8. dimlamp says:

    Thank you Rosanna, Elspethc, and Barbara for visiting and commenting.

    Elspethc, I too like you have thought of changing my theme, mainly because I wish we could have more choice over the type and size of the fonts we might wish to use.

    Barbara, I hadn’t thought of us looking like pioneers, interesting take on the photo. Our hats are all the same, we purchased them at the park and quite like them.

  9. Marso says:

    I love noticing shadow and surface. You got such a great combination here!

  10. mithriluna says:

    Great picture of yourselves at a magical place!

  11. dimlamp says:

    Thanks Inge, Marso, and Mithriluna for your comments and for visiting.

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | Memory Catcher

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 1 – The cupboard | Bastet and Sekhmet

  14. Mariane says:

    Don’t put yourself in the background, Dim – you are a lot more photographer than you think of yourself – as a former pro I see what you like to do and that is what counts 😀 – Superb photo to use in this challenge. To you and yours beloved have a great weekend 😉

  15. dimlamp says:

    Many thanks Mariane for your kind and encouraging words. Blessings on your weekend too. 🙂

  16. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background (Marks and Spencer) | What's (in) the picture?

  17. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 3 – The Bakery Shop (27 May, 2013) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background (Power) | What's (in) the picture?

  19. frizztext says:

    looks like a fragment
    of a Hollywood Western:
    “The shadows are my wife,
    brother-in-law,
    and yours truly…”

  20. dimlamp says:

    Now that’s a creative take on it, are you a Hollywood scout? 😉

  21. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | blogagaini

  22. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 4 – The Coop (27 May 2013) | Bastet and Sekhmet

  23. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Internal Reflection of the Background | Humbled Pie

  24. Arindam says:

    Great take on this week’s challenge.

  25. fgassette says:

    COOL!

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

