Daily Prompt at Daily Post @ WordPress.com

Today’s question is: What role does music play in your life?

The short answer is a big one. I love music of many different genres. I grew up with listening to and singing hymns, I still appreciate both contemporary and traditional hymns. I also grew up listening to folk and country and western music. I think I’ve listened to too much country, as now I don’t enjoy it. In my teen and young adult years, I enjoyed rock-n-roll, especially groups like the Beatles, Cream, Jimi Hendrix, Yes, The Moody Blues, Bruce Cockburn, etc. I still occasionally enjoy listening to these musicians. As the years went by, I came to appreciate classical music, especially Bach’s Brandenburgs, organ compositions, and choral works, which I still love even to this day. These last few years, I’ve listened more to the contemporary classical composers such as Philip Glass, Arvo Part, R. Murray Schaeffer, etc. One of my favourite compositions is Part’s rendition of the Beatitudes. Music functions in my life to help me relax, heal, meditate and pray, celebrate life in all of its fullness, it is “the universal language.” I agree with Martin Luther, next the the Word of God, music is God’s greatest gift to humankind.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/daily-prompt-music/

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

4 Responses to Daily Prompt at Daily Post @ WordPress.com

  1. Pingback: Waiting for the Gift of Sound & Vision | The Mercenary Researcher

  2. Ocean says:

    Bach’s Brandenburgs are beautiful ..we have them on CD.

    And I like to listen to Yes, Cream and Hendrix as well – and some songs of The Moody Blues (don’t know a lot of them) 🙂

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  4. seeker says:

    I agree with that music is universal language. I don’t think I’ll be able to live without music.

Leave a Reply

