Dr. Harold Brackman’s Report

 Historian and Simon Wiesenthal Center consultant Dr. Harold Brackman, has authored Europe and the Jews 2012: Dramatic Rise in Anti-Jewish, Anti-Israel Prejudice detailing the current crisis in Europe.

   Covering anti-Semitic hate crimes, Holocaust denial, anti-Zionism, extreme right and left anti-Jewish and anti-Israel conspiracies, and listing country-specific trends, the newest report details the current crisis in Europe and finally concludes with what can be done to combat the growth of anti-Semitism and Jew hatred in Europe today.

   This is very troublesome, and for these trends to continue all it takes, as the period prior to the Holocaust has proven, is for ordinary people to turn a blind eye and do nothing for evil and hatred like this to prosper and flourish. I’m reminded of the following words of Pastor Martin Niemoeller: “In Germany,” he wrote, “they came first for the Communists, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist. Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist. Then they came for the Catholics, and I didn’t speak up because I was a Protestant. Then they came for me, and by that time no one was left to speak.” I hope and pray that there will be enough people of good will around the world who do speak up and act against such evil and hatred to reverse these troublesome trends.

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

