Shepherd Me, O God

The 23rd Psalm has a host of musical settings, many of which I appreciate. However, this particular one by a favourite contemporary composer, Marty Haugen, is breath-takingly beautiful–give it a listen here. For your convenience, I’ve included the lyrics as well:

Refrain
Shepherd me, O God,
beyond my wants,
beyond my fears,
from death into life.

God is my shepherd,
so nothing shall I want,
I rest in the meadows
of faithfulness and love,
I walk by the quiet waters of peace.

Refrain

Gently you raise me
and heal my weary soul,
you lead me by pathways
of righteousness and truth,
my spirit shall sing
the music of your Name.

Refrain

Though I should wander
the valley of death,
I fear no evil,
for you are at my side,
your rod and your staff,
my comfort and my hope.

Refrain

You have set me a banquet of love
in the face of hatred,
crowning me with love
beyond my pow’r to hold.

Refrain

Surely your kindness and mercy
follow me all the days of my life;
I will dwell in the house of my God
forevermore.

Refrain

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

