I Am The True Vine

I Am The True Vine

In this last of the “I am” sayings series of headers, Jesus, in John 15:1, employing agrarian ancient Eastern imagery describes himself by saying: “I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinegrower.” Then, in verse 5, he goes on to reiterate: “I am the vine, you are the branches. Those who abide in me and I in them bear much fruit, because apart from me you can do nothing.” Once again, Jesus emphasises that it’s all about relationship and remaining connected with him. The vine, and branches by nature, grow and bear fruit. So it is in life. Life is a journey of growth, of producing and bearing fruit. Abiding in Jesus the true vine means participation in the Word and Sacraments-worship; the community/communion/koinonia of sinner-saints; and acts of loving kindness. Shorter, pruned branches remain closer to the vine—hence; they are the most healthy and fruitful. So in our lives, pruning vis-à-vis repentance and sufferings keep us closer and more connected with Christ the true vine for the purpose of growth and bearing fruit. Vines, of course, produce grapes, which are one of the symbols for Israel. Grapes, in turn, become wine—the drink of life for Jews in the Passover and for Christians in Holy Communion.

i-am91 

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

One Response to I Am The True Vine

  1. Gene says:

    And I AM blessed by this series of posts. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

