Martin Luther and the theology of the cross

Martin Luther and the theology of the cross

 

This year I’ve been reading a devotional book consisting of Martin Luther’s writings: Day By Day We Magnify Thee: Daily Readings For The Entire Year, which I highly recommend. Here’s a sample.

 

One of Martin Luther’s greatest insights on the theology of the cross was that God chooses certain sufferings for us to teach us beyond what we would learn on our own. Human nature, in and of itself, avoids suffering at all costs—yet that is precisely where God meets us. God in Christ is revealed to us through the Spirit’s creative activity through the Word and through the suffering. Here is a quote from Luther’s comment on Psalm 32:8: “I will instruct you and teach you the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.”

 

Behold, this is the way of the cross, which you cannot find, but I must lead you, like a blind (person). Therefore, not yourself, not a (human being), not a creature, but I will teach you, through My Word and Spirit, the way wherein you are to walk. You should follow the work which you choose and not the suffering which you devise, but that which comes to you against your choosing, thinking, and devising. It is there that I call you. There you should be a pupil. There is the time. There your Master has come to you. (The seven penitential Psalms, 1517. W.A. I. 171f.)

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

