ABT 2008 Synod Convention

Alberta & the Territories Synod Convention: June 5-8, 2008

Our church – synod convention is now history. I’d encourage readers to check out the synod blog created by a pastor and an intern reflecting on each day of the convention over here. You can also check out their blogs here and by clicking on Kevin Powell on my blog roll. I appreciate their commentary and add a few observations as well:

  • Many (most) of us lament the reality that we are a divided church. We have not been able to reach a consensus on same-sex blessings, nor are we likely to do so in the foreseeable future. At its roots, this is a very complex issue (For example, are people born homosexuals or are they socialized to become homosexuals or do they turn to homosexuality because they have been sexually abused?) some are tired of it and wished it would go away; while others are still trying to learn more and respond appropriately to it.
  • I thoroughly enjoyed the workshops by Pastor Kevin Powell on blogging and Social Ministry Coordinator Joyce Zutter on Creation Stewardship. Kevin’s blog is well worth the visit not only for his content, but also for ideas on how to improve the quality of one’s blog re. layout and presentation. Joyce’s presentation certainly challenged most of us as to our daily habits and how we either contribute to the ongoing pollution of our planet or become more responsible as caring stewards of creation.
  • I was inspired by the music during the worship services, as our congregation is musically challenged. I love to learn new hymns and liturgies.
  • There was also the fun, stress-relieving event of packing safely as many people into a Smart Car as possible in two minutes to support campus ministry. There was a three way tie, each of the three winning teams packed in nine persons. I was on one of the winning teams! The Good Samaritan Society Team. Thanks to the folks in campus ministry for sponsoring and organising this event. I’m sure it will be a popular one at future conventions.
  • The times of table fellowship, including the banquet, and celebrating the ordination anniversaries of our pastors were also opportunities to affirm “the communion of saints,” (and, of course, the shortcomings of sinners)!
  • Our convention demographics indicate we are an aging synod. Looking at all of the grey heads during our convention sittings confirmed this truth. Where are our younger folks? Next convention I do hope there is a more diverse demographic representation.

 

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

2 Responses to ABT 2008 Synod Convention

  1. Erik says:

    Thanks for the comments. I added a link to this blog on my blog roll.

    In the company of church type folks, I am usually aware that I awfully young, but at the convention I felt like I was a newborn. Other than the Anderson -Lopez newborn, I think I was often the youngest person in the room at age 25. At least at the last convention there was a youth delegation… I hope congregations take advantage of the new opportunity to bring youth delegates, but I also think the convention needs to perhaps have a special event for those younger delegates to get to know each other.

  2. dimlamp says:

    Thanks for your comments too. Perhaps you could share your ideas about youth participation at future conventions with a member or members of the synod convention planning committee. I’ve also added you to my blog roll.

Leave a Reply

