Daily Prompt at The Daily Post @ WordPress.com

Today’s Daily Prompt asks: “It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/daily-prompt-polite-company/

If I disagreed with this statement, I’d be out of sync with the essence of my faith tradition, Christianity. Ever since its inception, the Christian faith has been a mission focussed, evangelistic faith. Jesus has called and sent out his followers to baptize, preach and teach the Good News. The mission is to the whole world—all people. The word evangelistic simply means the message of the Gospel-Good News. It is Gospel-Good News because it offers an abundant, full life now on earth—filled with meaning and purpose, forgiveness of sin, reconciliation with family, friends, neighbours and yes even enemies, it is all about loving God and loving neighbour, i.e. developing, enhancing and growing in relationships of the highest quality with the goal of living in peace with justice for all, and salvation-eternal life with God.

So, to be able to discuss religion or politics I believe helps rather than hinders relationships with others. I think the word “discuss” is important here, as opposed to argue or debate. A discussion is usually civilized, and includes respect and kindness for self and others.

About dimlamp
I am, among other things, a sojourner, a sinner-saint, a baptized, life-long learner and follower of Jesus, and Lutheran pastor. Dim Lamp: dimlamp.wordpress.com gwh photos: gwhphotos.wordpress.com

6 Responses to Daily Prompt at The Daily Post @ WordPress.com

  1. jaimmers says:

    I have been wondering about this also since I just started a blog and many of my videos/songs are based on my beliefs. My job in blogging is to be true to myself and share wholly who I am. I am not trying to convert but simply show the part that faith plays in my life. Thanks for the thought provoking question.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Polite Company Discussing Religion or Politics??? | My Blog

  3. Pingback: ARSENIC WORDS « hastywords

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Polite Company | That elusive pair of jeans

  5. seeker says:

    Discuss and dialogue, never argue. Your right on.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Polite Company « Dibbler Dabbler

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

